Children and Domestic Violence

I have always had a passion for the cause of violence against women. As an undergraduate, I organized and executed productions of The Vagina Monologues year after year, raising money for a local charity called Turning Point, that rescues coaches and provides help for women and children who are victims of domestic physical or emotional abuse. In my work, I also partnered with a professor and worked with the women in the organization coping in doing writing therapy groups to express themselves. With those writings, we published a book called Free to Be (Naomi Gal). In this work, I came to learn a lot about how the innocent children were affected by exposure to domestic violence and abuse.

It was clear through working with these women that the children felt confused, lost and worried. The loss of control and stability in their lives often sent them into a tailspin. Many became isolated, shy, quiet and scared no matter how exuberant their personalities were before. I observed children who coped differently by never being satiated, always needy and scared that if they weren’t needing something the attention would be placed elsewhere. Others behaved badly, coping with their fears and confusion physically.

Below is an infographic sharing more information about the issues children face with domestic violence and the following link provides information about Turning Point of the Lehigh Valley.Children and Domestic Violence

 

 

6 thoughts on “Children and Domestic Violence

  1. I commend you for your work and efforts in the productions of “The Vagina Monologues.” Also, I have learned that children that are exposed to or experience domestic violence are scarred emotionally, mentally, and socially and ultimately affect their developmental growth. I have experienced children who have suffered from sources of violence are not empathetic and normally are withdrawn from others. Thanks for your information.

    Here are some additional resources that I have found on domestic violence:
    Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE) Response
    University of Albany & Prevent Child Abuse America
    Seeks to connect research data and its potential for real-world application to prevent adverse childhood experiences and their consequences through policy and program leadership, community development, and direct practice.

    Behind Closed Doors: The Impact of Domestic Violence on Children (PDF – 1750 KB)
    UNICEF (2006)
    Discusses the impact of domestic violence on children’s physical, emotional, and social development both during childhood and later in life.

    Children’s Exposure to Domestic Violence: A Guide to Research and Resources (PDF – 1809 KB)
    Summers (2006)
    Designed to help judges and practitioners identify and understand the key issues surrounding children’s exposure to domestic violence.

    Consequences of Childhood Exposure to Intimate Partner Violence (PDF – 1210 KB)
    Emery (2006)
    Presents research findings on the consequences of exposure to intimate partner violence on children.

    Domestic Violence Effects on Children: A Bibliography 2001-2010 (PDF – 225 KB)
    National Children’s Advocacy Center (2010)
    Provides a selected listing of publications pertaining to the effects of domestic violence on children.

    Like

  2. Wow!! I commend you on your work! such an excellent job! how can I reach you for information for that? I have some people you can help maybe myself! Also, I have learned that children that are exposed to or experience domestic violence are scarred emotionally, mentally, and socially and ultimately affect their developmental growth. I have experienced children who have suffered from sources of violence are not normal and are withdrawn from others. I know this personally because of what me and my little sister went through! God Bless you for doing what you do! Thanks for your information. I really would like to get aboard your Turning point and monologue!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the information on Child Domestic because it was much needed. I really do believe that children that comes from a domestic environment will probably come out doing the same thing. Domestic really do effect our children and it make them because bitter about life and other situation. Thanks for the information!!

    Like

  4. I really enjoyed your infographic. At the non-profit I work at every Thursday night, I am in contact with many families that are victims of domestic abuse, but I don’t work with the parents, I work with the children and so I know and understand the impact that it has on them, but I some of those statistics in your inforgraphic were new to me (like I didn’t know the amount of children that were present when a parent was abused was that high) and I think that is a great one to share.

    Like

Leave a Reply

